Wage Claims, Overtime, and Wage and Hour Laws
Most Frequently Viewed Resources
If you cannot afford the filing fee or other court costs, you may qualify to have these fees and costs waived by the court.
Ask questions and get answers, in real time, right here on the Internet, from live law librarians throughout California.
Whatever the reason, you have the right to represent yourself, to be your own lawyer in all cases in California.
The Constitution; Executive and Administrative Laws; County, Appellate, Supreme Court, and Federal Districts; State Legislation; and Legal Guides.
How to get back what your employer owes you.
This section will give you general guidelines for how to best prepare yourself for court.
Breaks, overtime, tips, paydays, and more.
The general rule in California is that employees are considered to employed "at will," meaning that they may be fired at any time by their employers, for any reason or for no reason at all. However, there are important exceptions to the "at will" rule.
ADR is usually less formal, less expensive, and less time-consuming than a trial.
Can an employer take away a raise or reduce your wage without consent?
Locate the office by looking at the list of offices or using the alphabetical listing of cities, locations, and communities. Staff are available in person and by telephone.
A union owes a duty of fair representation to all of the workers it represents. This duty requires that the union act fairly, impartially, and without ill will or discrimination when pursuing a worker"s grievance or when negotiating a new contract with the employer.
You have rights protected by state laws.
Domestic service workers in private homes are covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
California Labor Commissioner's office (also known as DLSE) can help recover unpaid wages.
With a few exceptions, undocumented workers enjoy all of the legal rights and remedies provided by both Federal and California law.
The categories and situations when overtime doesn't apply.
Your rights to vacation time and sick days.
What are your rights as a worker? What Is the Underground Economy? Report a bad employer.
This booklet focuses on the California Labor Code sections.
Alphabetical Listing of Resources
The rules about working only 4 days but 1 hours per day.
Effective January 1, 217, the minimum wage for all industries will be increased yearly.
There are new requirements for employees to have paid sick leave.
Your rights to comp time, or "compensated time off work".
What your employer can and can't take away.
If your employer has filed for bankruptcy, it means that the business is no longer able to pay off its debts to its creditors, and the company has asked the court to help it either plan a repayment schedule (“Chapter 11” bankruptcy) or sell off all its property and use the money to pay off the creditors (“Chapter 7” bankruptcy).
These requirements are not subject to waiver during natural disasters and recovery efforts.
Equality in pay and compensation is protected under the law.
You should get paid what you're owed after you're terminated.
DLSE's policies and interpretations for administering and enforcing.
About minimum wage, which has changed several times in the last few years.
How to figure out the pay you're owed and claim it.
Call the office near you for help.
Can my employer lay me off without any warning?
Your rights when you work with tips.
Who has to pay?
Search to see if your old employer lost a case against the government and now owes you money.