Protect Your Privacy on the Internet

Clear Your Internet History and Personal Information

Your computer stores information about where you go on the internet and what you read. Follow these instructions to clear some of the information that is saved on your computer.

 

 If you don't know which browser you're using, click here to find out: WhatsMyBrowser.org 

 

Click on the browser you use for the internet.


Internet Explorer 4, 5, and 6                        Internet Explorer 7 and 8                        Internet Explorer 9, 10, and 11

 If you don't know which browser you're using, click here to find out: WhatsMyBrowser.org 


             Google Chrome                                                       Mozilla Firefox                                           Safari

 If you don't know which browser you're using, click here to find out: WhatsMyBrowser.org 


     Android smartphone                              Apple iPhone or iPad

                               

 

After you've cleared your internet history and personal information, click here to learn how to browse the internet in private using a "Private" or "Incognito" feature the next time you don't want information to be saved.

     


 

Press these three keys at the same time:

Ctrl - Shift - Delete

Click here if you know how to do this - skip to the final step.

For Apple  and Mac  users:   - Shift - Delete

 

Or, follow these directions:

Click on the tool icon in the upper right-hand corner. It could look like a wrench or three stacked lines.

                                  

Click on Tools >, and then click on Clear browsing data...

Or click on Clear browsing data...

Now, select what types of information you want to remove. You can choose the time period you want to remove information by clicking on the triangle or arrowhead: the past hour, day, week, month, or all the information.

Be careful with how far back in time you clear information!  History is shared with whoever else uses your computer.

Be careful if you delete "cookies" and passwords! Passwords are stored with many sites, using "cookies", by whoever else uses your computer.

After you've cleared your internet history and personal information, click here to learn how to browse the internet in private using a "Private" or "Incognito" feature the next time you don't want information to be saved.


Press these three keys at the same time:

Ctrl - Shift - Delete

Click here if you know how to do this - skip to the final step.

For Apple and Mac users:  ⌘ - Shift - Delete

 

Or, follow these directions:

Click on the Tools menu in the top bar and then select Clear Recent History...

Or, click on the orange box labeled "Firefox"

(If you don't see "Clear Recent History...," click here)

               

Now, select what types of information you want to remove. You can choose the time period you want to remove information by clicking on the triangle or arrowhead: the past hour, day, week, month, or all the information.

Be careful with how far back in time you clear information!  History is shared with whoever else uses your computer.

Be careful if you delete "cookies" and passwords! Passwords are stored with many sites, using "cookies", by whoever else uses your computer.

After you've cleared your internet history and personal information, click here to learn how to browse the internet in private using a "Private" or "Incognito" feature the next time you don't want information to be saved.

Click on the Tools menu in the top bar and then select Clear Private Data...,


              

Select what you want to delete. 

All of the stored history, including information from before today, will be deleted.

Be careful if you delete "cookies" and passwords! Passwords are stored with many sites, using "cookies", by whoever else uses your computer.

After you've cleared your internet history and personal information, click here to learn how to browse the internet in private using a "Private" or "Incognito" feature the next time you don't want information to be saved.

Apple  and Mac  users, The ⌘ key is also called the “command”, “cmd”, and “Apple” key, located on the bottom-left of the keyboard on the bottom row.